Be Your Own Kind of Superhero

Superhero

“Who’s your superhero?”
That’s a common question asked in an essay writing in an English subject. I remember myself in grade school staring at the wall feeling frustrated of how to fill my intermediate paper with sensible story to tell because I don’t have one. I couldn’t think of anybody to consider as my personal hero because I am surrounded with negligent people. So eventually my essay is full of bluffs and lies that I find no pride and interest in reading in front of everybody. Now age 23, I came across with the question again and I thought that maybe this time I finally found the superhero of my life; after all, I have met a lot people. However, no matter how hard I think, still couldn’t think of anyone. Growing up independent and self-reliant, I figured out that perhaps I could be my own hero. I’m not saying I don’t need anybody but at times when I am at my weakest, the person that could save me is yet myself. Finding that inner strength in the midst of your weakness is a rare power someone could possess. Perhaps I could be someone’s hero too. Helping and leading others find their voice, their courage, their self, their purpose … be the superhero somebody needs.

2 thoughts on “Be Your Own Kind of Superhero

  1. Chas Rad September 8, 2016 / 3:08 pm

    Exactly how I felt in school. I think that question was on one of the final exams too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Elsang Bertud September 8, 2016 / 10:58 pm

      Seriously? Final Exams? We only have this as a seat work 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

